Not a god complex, just an Outer Being (in 5 mins)a 5min read

 

“What are they talking about?” Pholf leaned over Mercival’s shoulder and listened in.  All she ever did was listen, he thought, and they never talked to her.

“Shhh, I’m learning something,” Mercival said and peered in closer to the dome surrounding the soccer field.

Pholf reached in and tapped on the thick glass.  Dink dink dink.

All of the women looked up.

“What confusions!” Mercival hissed at him wide-eyed.  “Do not tap on their dome, omg, they’re going to get all weird again and start The Killing.” Mercival snatched his hand away. “I don’t need that right now.”

“Awww they’re okay, look.”

They both turned back to Mercival’s tub.  Pholf noted her number of oceans again and the extra valleys and now he could see a super-sized shopping mall full of shoes and ham sandwiches and where the hell did she get that from?

He glanced at her and shoved his hands in his pockets.  “Say, how’d you get that mall, Mercival?  I never saw one of those in the software or vid‑“

“Oh I made it up.”

“But why?”

“I like it when they buy the ham sandwiches.  ….looks so happy, and then the big shoes with the clomping and pieces of lettuce and tomato falling out of the sandwich and getting ire at each other’s tomato-stained shoes and the ham shoe contest-rallies.  It gets pretty interesting.”

“Wow.”

All of a sudden, they heard an angry, vitriol-filled woman bitching magnificently from the driver seat of a fancy SUV.

“What’s that hate-filled being in the SUV?”

“I don’t know, let’s see.”

They leaned over the dome and smushed a huge eye over the soccer field.

“Ow! What was that?” Pholf snatched his head back.

“Called a sun.  I put a sun there.  It’s hot.”

“Oh. Mmm.”

They turned back to the well-dressed banshee.

“Wow, just look at her.”

“I know, she’s amazing .”

“What is she wielding?”

“A cellular phone device.”

“Who is that small being?”

“Her spawn.”

“Look over there.” Pholf pointed.

“No, listen.”

The volumptious beings seated on the mat in the soccer field giggled and waved their frontal appendages around in the atmosphere.  The one with the eye shields spoke,

“Yah.  The market is so crazy lately.  Exactly. We looked at three houses and every time it was swooped up before we could.  Crazy. I thought he would (indecipherable)

SUV woman:  I BOUGHT THE WATER SO YOU COULD DRINK IT.

Engine starts.

Engine stops.

“Well Jason’s eight.  He just doesn’t understand it.  I mean, another thing is that-“

Right.

Right.

Right.

You want a drink? A drink?  goooood girl.

Engine starts.

water? water?

Come here.

Where’s the regular water?

It’s all regular water

You can’t fool me

The water bottle

 

 

Pholf looked over at Mercival skeptically.  “You wrote this stuff?”

“No, I just kinda put ‘em in there and sometimes I write, I think, but most of the time I’m busy doing other stuff.” She stuffed her feet in their pockets and tried to concentrate.

Pholf sniffed and rolled his eyes.  “You should go down there an inhabit yourself.  Maybe try the kid.”

“No, I’d be the dog.”

“That’s boring.  The angry sorceress?”

 

 

 

The water bottle

You drank all your water already?

Hey is that water or lemonade?

You should probably bring a bigger bottle

Having fun?

And when we’re done can I stay longer when we’re done?

We’ll see.

CAN YOU GET IN THE CAR TODAY

slam

slam

No, rox is cute she looks a lot like

My new addiction is watching

Cackle

Cackle

I think it’s kick

Oh that is cute

Ok ay

Ok ay

I took her in to get her hair cut and uh

Yah

Yah

She does kind of!

Yah

Yah

More than I want

 

Pholf jerked back.  He pressed his eye against the sun and listened to the searing noise and bubble.

“Hey! Stop that!” Mercival tried to pull his shoulder back. “You’re gonna drip stuff everywhere!”

“I don’t care.  They must stop.”

“Stop!”

Pholf peeled his bubbling eye off of sun and considered it.  He leaned forward, paused, leaned in again, opened his mouth, and gulped it down his throat.

“Have fun!”

Leave a Reply

