wondered if any of us knew each other

“What are we all doing here?” I asked the person sitting next to me.

“Shhh. They’re gonna explain it,” he said and pointed to the man walking through the door.

The man was huge.  He had to bend over, almost crawl through the doorway and when he finally got inside the station he had to sit down to fit.  His hair brushed the ceiling.

“I know you’re all wondering why you’re here,” he said calmly and peered around the room.

Everyone murmured their consent and I marveled at the size of his head.  It was like a bus.

“And I know you’re wondering why I’m so big, and I’ll get to that later,” he said.

The man beside me nudged my arm and pointed at his crotch.

“Oh great,” I thought and smirked, “this guy.”

My neighbor raised his hand.  The big man called on him.  “Yes?”

My neighbor stifled a laugh.  “Are there any women like you?”

The big man stared at him for a second and didn’t respond. He turned his bus head toward the rest of the crowd.

“I know some of you are wondering if you are dead, and I’m here to tell you, you are not.” The big man said.

I heard a woman a few rows over break down and weep loudly.  A man put his hand on her shoulder and I wondered if any of us knew each other.  Then man with his hand on her shoulder looked at her awkwardly.  I looked around the crowd and didn’t see anyone I recognized.

“Hey! Where are we?” I yelled out suddenly.

The big bus turned toward me.  He wore the same look he gave my neighbor.  He stared at me for a while before answering.

“I’m getting there.  We find it best to lead into things so as not to alarm you,” he said.

“No, that’s not going to work for me,” I said.

“Yeah,” my neighbor quipped, “Tell us where we are!”

The big man finally frowned.  “We all remain calm at all times,” he said.

“Who’s we?” I asked.

 

There was a long pause.

“Who’s we?” I asked again.

“Okay, you.” He pointed toward me with his massive finger.  “You,” he pointed toward my neighbor. ”Outside.”

 

I thought about arguing with him but then I thought about his huge finger pointing at us and squashed bugs.

“Whatevs.” I said.

“Yeah, screw you man,” my neighbor added and we shuffled our way to the exit door of the train station.

“Is this even a train station?” my neighbor asked as we walked to the door.

“Not sure. Hey what’s your name anyway?” I asked.

“Me? I’m Delafonte,” he said.  “You?”

“I forgot my name,” I said.

He looked at me and shook his head.  “Ah man, that sucks.”

I walked out the door with my new friend and listened to the big man resume his lecture behind us.

“We’re all here now.  Good job.  Now I’m going to pass around these name placards and I would like you to write your name and blood type and the last things you can remember eating in the past two weeks,” he said.

I looked over my shoulder and caught him lick his lips.

 

~To Be Continued!

Leave a Reply

